Favicon of IntercomFavicon of Unthread

Intercom vs Unthread

A side-by-side comparison of Intercom and Unthread on what each one charges, what it meters, and which plan every capability actually sits on.

The short answer

1 of the 19 capabilities tracked on both differs. Intercom starts at $29/seat/mo, Unthread at $50/seat/mo.

Intercom and Unthread at a glance
MeasureIntercomUnthread
Starts at$29/seat/mo$50/seat/mo
Charged perEach agent seatEach agent seat
AI billed at$0.99 per AI resolutionconversations/month allowance, no rate published
Included, where the other says no0 capabilities0 capabilities

Capability by capability

1 of the 19 capabilities tracked on both products differs.

Channels

Channels capabilities compared between Intercom and Unthread
CapabilityIntercomUnthread
EmailIncludedAll plansIncludedEmail inboxes feed the same conversation model, and a Slack thread reply with /unthread send appended is delivered to the customer by email.
Live chatIncludedAll plansIncludedIn-app chat widget that routes into Slack, plus an embedded customer portal.
In-app messengerIncludedAll plansNot published
VoiceIncludedAll plans, pay-as-you-goNot published
SMSIncludedAll plans, pay-as-you-goNot published
WhatsAppIncludedAll plans, pay-as-you-goNot published
Slack ConnectNot publishedA Slack integration is included on every plan, but Intercom does not say whether it covers Slack Connect shared channels, which is the thing a B2B support team actually needs. Recorded as Unknown rather than credited.IncludedThe core motion. A shared Slack Connect channel maps to a Customer record; anyone outside your email domain posting in it is classified a customer and opens a tracked conversation, anyone in your Slack workspace is an agent. Role overrides per channel are available. Threads are one conversation each; top-level messages group by a configurable time gap defaulting to one hour; conversations can be merged and split afterwards.
Microsoft TeamsNot publishedIncludedNot stated on the pricing page. The vendor labels the integration beta: "This feature is currently in beta and actively being developed."
Community forumNoNo community product. Nothing in the plan comparison offers forums, member profiles or moderation, so a team that wants customers answering each other buys that elsewhere.Not published

Ticketing

Ticketing capabilities compared between Intercom and Unthread
CapabilityIntercomUnthread
Shared inboxIncludedAll plans. Multiple team inboxes arrive at Advanced, so the entry plan is a single shared inbox.IncludedA Slack inbox and a web inbox with a Kanban board over the same conversations.
Ticket queuesIncludedAll plans carry the ticketing system. The customer-facing tickets portal is Advanced and above.Not published
SLA policiesIncludedExpertIncludedSLA policies and instances have full CRUD in the API, unlike automations. Policy writes need a workspace owner or admin service account.
Business hoursIncludedExpert only, as team office hours, alongside team reply time settings. Neither is available on Essential or Advanced.Not published
Macros / saved repliesNot publishedIncludedTemplates under Outbound, inserted with a slash command, supporting rich formatting, images, buttons and embedded surveys. No API endpoint, so they do not export.
Merge & splitNot publishedIncludedConversations can be merged or split after tracking, which is what makes grouped top-level Slack messages recoverable when the grouping guesses wrong.
Custom fieldsNot publishedIncludedTicket types carry custom fields, and both have API endpoints.
Ticket formsNot publishedIncludedTicket types with checklists and input fields, which AI can pre-fill when the intake setting is "Engage AI Agent".

Routing & automation

Routing & automation capabilities compared between Intercom and Unthread
CapabilityIntercomUnthread
Round-robin assignmentIncludedAdvancedNot published
Load balancingIncludedExpert only, as workload management. Advanced gets round-robin assignment but not capacity-aware distribution.Not published
TriggersIncludedSimple automations are on every plan; the Workflows automation builder starts at Advanced.Not published
Workflow builderIncludedAdvancedIncluded"AI automation builder" is listed only on Enterprise. The docs add that automations must be enabled for trial accounts and that custom actions must be enabled for the tenant.
Escalation rulesIncludedAll plans, and they carry billing consequences that are published: an escalation triggered by workspace-level guidance or escalation rules is not charged as an outcome, while a handoff written into a Procedure is.Not published

AI resolution

AI resolution capabilities compared between Intercom and Unthread
CapabilityIntercomUnthread
Autonomous resolution agentIncludedAll plans, meteredNot published
Resolution over knowledge baseIncludedAll plans. Fin answers from the help centre and the Procedures a team writes, and the vendor is explicit about the boundary: "Fin trains only on your knowledge and Procedures, never on data you haven't approved".Not published
Action-taking (API calls)IncludedAll plans, through Procedures, which Fin executes and which can end in a configured handoff to a workflow, a team or a teammate. A successful Procedure handoff is itself a billable outcome at $0.99.Not published
Handoff to humanIncludedAll plansNot published
Guardrails & citationsIncludedAll plans. Fin can be tested before it reaches anyone: "Before Fin ever talks to a real customer, run realistic Simulations against edge cases, including vulnerable-customer and compliance scenarios." Fine-tuning is opt-out, with data deleted within 30 days.Not published
Multilingual AIIncludedAll plansNot published

AI assist

AI assist capabilities compared between Intercom and Unthread
CapabilityIntercomUnthread
Reply draftingPaid add-onCopilot, sold per seat on any plan at $29 per agent per month billed annually or $35 billed monthly. Every full seat gets 10 conversations a month included; unlimited use is the paid add-on.Not published
TranslationIncludedAll plans, metered: 10 AI auto-translation conversations per agent per month are included free, matching the 10 free Copilot conversations.Not published
Auto-taggingNot publishedIncludedAI applies tags at conversation creation only, and manual changes override. AI also sets ticket type, generates titles and posts a two to three sentence summary into the triage channel on close.
Sentiment analysisNot publishedNot published as a product feature. The Pro add-on analyses conversations for quality; sentiment is not named as an output.IncludedNumerical sentiment score per conversation.

AI voice

AI voice capabilities compared between Intercom and Unthread
CapabilityIntercomUnthread
Voice agentIncludedFin Voice exists and is the one part of Fin with no published price: "To use Fin Voice and for pricing details, please contact Sales." Outcome pricing at $0.99 is stated to cover chat and email only.Not published

Knowledge base

Knowledge base capabilities compared between Intercom and Unthread
CapabilityIntercomUnthread
Public help centerIncludedAll plansIncludedUnthread's own documentation site runs on it and carries a "This site is powered by Unthread. Get your own support portal" footer.
Multi-brandIncludedExpertNot published
LocalizationIncludedAdvancedNot published
In-product widgetIncludedAll plans. The Messenger is included everywhere, and the pricing page bundles "free, unlimited live chat, support email, in-app chats, banners, and tooltips" into every tier.Not published
AI answers over KBIncludedAll plans. Fin is included on every tier and answers from help centre content; only the outcomes it produces are charged.IncludedNo AI feature is named on the Basic card. Pro is described as having "AI automation at the core"; the "AI automation builder" and "Self-learning documentation" lines appear only on Enterprise.

Self-service

Self-service capabilities compared between Intercom and Unthread
CapabilityIntercomUnthread
Chatbot flowsIncludedAdvanced and above, as the Workflows automation builder. Essential is limited to simple automations, so scripted multi-step flows are the main reason to leave the entry plan.Not published

QA & workforce

QA & workforce capabilities compared between Intercom and Unthread
CapabilityIntercomUnthread
Conversation QA scoringPaid add-onThe Pro add-on, from $99 a month, covering analysis of 1,000 conversations a month plus 2,000 credits, with extra credits at $0.01. Sold on any plan.Not published
Automated QA coveragePaid add-onSame Pro add-on, pitched at full coverage rather than sampling: "see and continuously improve 100% of your customer conversations" and "check if quality meets your standards".Not published
ForecastingNoNo workforce management product. Workload management at Expert distributes conversations against capacity; it does not forecast contact volume or build a staffing plan.Not published
SchedulingNoNo shift scheduling. Team office hours at Expert set when a team is open, which is not the same as rostering people against a forecast.Not published
Adherence trackingNoNo adherence tracking. Nothing in the plan comparison measures agents against a schedule, because there is no schedule to measure against.Not published

Reporting

Reporting capabilities compared between Intercom and Unthread
CapabilityIntercomUnthread
Prebuilt dashboardsIncludedAll plans, as pre-built reports.Not published
Custom reportsIncludedAdvanced and above. Essential is limited to the pre-built set.Not published
Raw data exportIncludedAll plans, and self-serve, but split by object: contacts export to CSV from the UI, while conversations are reachable only through the API or the S3 export.API onlyCursor-paginated JSON over the API for conversations, messages, attachments, customers, users, tags, ticket types, surveys and knowledge base articles, plus a CSV download from the analytics dashboard. No single-click account export and no archive file.
Data warehouse syncIncludedBulk conversation export to Amazon S3 as JSON is documented with no plan condition, which is a stronger position than the UI export it sits beside.IncludedA Snowflake integration exists and connects with a dedicated service user, scopable read-only or read-write per table or schema. The documentation covers authentication and RBAC scoping and does not enumerate which Unthread objects are written, on what cadence, so this is not a documented full egress path the way a published warehouse schema would be.
CSAT / NPSNot publishedNot published in the plan comparison. Conversation ratings are widely used in the product but appear on no reachable pricing or plan page, so the tier gate cannot be established.Included"NPS & CSAT surveys" is listed on Pro, not Basic.
Real-time reportingIncludedExpert only. The real-time dashboard sits with SSO, HIPAA and SLAs behind the top tier.Not published

Collaboration

Collaboration capabilities compared between Intercom and Unthread
CapabilityIntercomUnthread
AssignmentIncludedAll plans have assignment; the automation around it is gated. Round-robin arrives at Advanced with multiple team inboxes, and capacity-aware workload management at Expert.Not published
ApprovalsNot publishedIncludedApproval requests are a first-class object with create and list endpoints, assignable to a user or a group.

Enterprise

Enterprise capabilities compared between Intercom and Unthread
CapabilityIntercomUnthread
SAML SSOIncludedExpertIncluded"Single sign-on (SSO)" is listed only on the Enterprise card.
SCIM provisioningIncludedExpert in effectIncluded"HRIS integration & directory sync" is listed only on Enterprise.
Role-based access controlIncludedTeammate roles exist and can be mapped from identity provider groups, which ties the useful version of this to SCIM and therefore to Expert.IncludedRole-based access control is described on the security page with no gate; "Custom RBAC permissions" is an Enterprise line on the pricing card.
Custom rolesIncludedTeammate roles, mappable from identity-provider groups. The plan gate is not published.Not published
Audit logsIncludedTeammate Activity Logs exist as a feature. Intercom does not publish which plan they require, and they have no documented export path.IncludedEnterprise only. Verbatim: "Note: this feature is only available on the Enterprise plan."
IP allowlistIncludedIP restrictions are listed on the security page alongside SSO, 2FA and SCIM. No plan gate is published.Not published
Multi-brandIncludedExpertNot published
HIPAA / BAAIncludedExpertIncluded"HIPAA & BAAs" appears only on the Enterprise card. The security page states BAAs are available without naming a tier, so the pricing page is the stricter and more specific source.
SOC 2IncludedNot plan-gatedIncludedNo gate stated. SOC 2 Type II, report available under NDA through the trust centre.
ISO 27001IncludedNot plan-gatedNot publishedAbsent from the security page's certification list, which does name SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA. Absence from a closed enumeration is the finding.
GDPRIncludedNot plan-gatedIncludedNo gate stated.
Data residencyIncludedNot publishedIncludedNot stated. "Dedicated hosting" is an Enterprise line on the pricing card and the security page describes residency as "isolated, dedicated database instances", which reads like the same product, but the vendor does not join them.
Data retention policyIncludedPublished for AI data specifically rather than as a general policy: fine-tuning is opt-out "with data deleted within 30 days", and third-party model providers are "contractually barred from training on your data, with zero retention once a response is generated".Not publishedNo configurable retention period is documented and no post-cancellation retrieval window is published. The privacy policy states only that personal data is kept "as long as is necessary for the purposes set out in this Privacy Policy".
Right-to-erasure toolingIncludedDocumented as a GDPR workflow, covering both export and deletion of a contact's data on request.IncludedBy email request: "In order to request a copy or deletion of your personal data, please contact support+data@unthread.io". No self-serve deletion control is documented.

Developer

Developer capabilities compared between Intercom and Unthread
CapabilityIntercomUnthread
REST APIIncludedAll plansIncluded"Basic integrations & API" is listed on Basic, the cheapest paid plan.
WebhooksNot publishedNot published on the pricing page or in the plan comparison. The REST API is documented with generous limits; webhooks are not named.IncludedHMAC-SHA256 signed, four event types: conversation_created, conversation_updated, conversation_deleted and message_created. Retried up to four times, auto-disabled after 100 consecutive failures or a 410.
SDKsIncludedAll plans. The Messenger ships as a web and in-app component, and "in-app chats" are bundled free into every tier alongside banners and tooltips.Not published
App frameworkIncludedAn app store exists and apps can be built against it. Intercom does not publish an app count on any page that renders, so the size of the ecosystem is unverified.Not published
Published rate limitsIncludedAll plansNot publishedNo rate limit anywhere in the API reference. The only ceiling stated is a 100-record page limit on list endpoints.

Both entries last checked Sep 9, 2026.

What Intercom costs

$29/seat/month
4 published plans, billed annually
  • Billing unit
    Seat + usage hybrid
  • Free tier
    No, 14-day trial
  • AI pricing
    $0.99 per AI resolution
  • Vendor calls it
    Outcome
  • Human handoff
    Still billed
  • Reopened chat
    Refunded
  • AI billing window
    1d of inactivity
  • Data export
    Self-serve
  • Automation export
    Not offered

What Unthread costs

$50/seat/month
2 published plans, billed annually
  • Billing unit
    $50 per agent / month on the annual toggle
  • Free tier
    No, 14-day trial
  • AI pricing
    Not published
  • Vendor calls it
    conversations/month
  • Human handoff
    Not published
  • Reopened chat
    Not published
  • AI billing window
    Not published
  • Data export
    Self-serve
  • Automation export
    Not offered

4 of 9 not published by Unthread, checked